Lately

Lately everything is too much,
Everyone is too much
The truth is I’m drowning
I’m drowning in solitude
I’m drowning because of everyone’s expectations
Because of everything I wish I could do but can’t
Because of the promises made the weren’t kept
Because of all the times someone asked me how I was and I looked at them, smiled and said “great” when in fact I wasn’t
Because of all those times I have kept everything to myself in the fear of no one caring enough
I’m drowning because of the continuous sound of my alarm every morning reminding me that I made a commitment
A commitment to wake up
A commitment to keep everything I feel locked up
A commitment to put on a mask
A commitment to face everyone and everything despite of how empty I may feel
A commitment that, as days go by, is getting harder to follow

Leave a Reply

